(10. Posadni Zdrug)
by H.L. deZeng IV

Formed on or about 1 April 1944 with HQ in Tuzla by consolidating and reorganizing all of the primarily Moslem militia battalions and companies located in the vicinity of Tuzla and south thereof that previously had belonged to the Domobran Volunteer (Domdo) Rgt. “Bosanski planinci” (“Bosnian Mountaineers”). The name stayed with the Brigade and its successor as an honorific. The Partisans called these irregulars “Zeleni kadar” (“Green Cadres”). No strength figures have been found for the Brigade, but an estimate of 6,000 – 7,000 would be close. Tactically subordinated to German V. SS-Gebirgskorps. (1)

Operational History

14-16 Apr 44: in heavy fighting with 16th and 36th Divisions NOU in the villages of Kalesija, Prnjavor and Medjaš, the Brigade defenders were forced to withdraw with moderate losses. The villages were retaken later.
May – Aug 44: numerous small unit actions, mostly defensive, in its assigned territory, which was a hotbed of Partisan activity.
17 Sep 44: Brig. suffered heavy losses when Tuzla attacked and temporarily taken by 27th Assault Division NOVJ. The Brigade HQ moved to Brčko after Tuzla was taken by the Partisans.
1 Dec 44: renamed 3d Mountain Brigade “Bosnian Mountaineers” and assigned to 12th Croatian Infantry Division.


Podpukovnik Andjelko Švab (Apr 1944? - 30 Nov 1944)


II Territorial Corps (Apr 1944 - 30 Nov 1944)

Order of battle (Aug 1944)

Brigade HQ and Administrative Section in Tuzla
I Bn. (1st – 5th Co.) in Medjaš (HQ) – Gornja Tuzla – Hrasno – Prnjavor – Tupković – Dubrave
II Bn. (1st – 5th Co.) in Živinice (HQ) – Kiseljak – Banovići – Ribnica – Stupari – Djurdjevik
III Bn. (1st – 5th Co.) in Puračić (HQ) – Lukavac – Turija – Seona – Devetak
IV Bn. (1st – 5th Co.) in Miričina (HQ) – Dobosnica – Gnojnica – Ljenobud – Orahovica
V Bn. (1st – 5th Co.) in Srebrenik (HQ) – Crveno Brdo – Breske – Spionica – Brezik
VI Bn. (1st – 5th Co.) in Teočak (HQ) – Janja – Janjari – Trnava – Bijeljina
VII Bn. (1st – 5th Co.) in Zvornik (HQ) – Sepak – Kozluk – Snegovo – Medjedja – Sapna
VIII Bn. (1st – 5th Co.) in Brčko (HQ – CO Nadporučnik Jurković) – Celić – Koraj – Sibosnica – Vrazici – Dubrave
IX Bn. (1st – 5th Co.) in Gračanica (HQ) – Sjenina – Sokolac – Lukavac - Črnice
X Bn. (1st – 5th Co.) in Bos. Šamac (HQ) – Orašje – Gradačac – Modriča - Odžak


1. Arhiv Vojnoistorijski institut, kut. 60, reg.br. 32/2; [Vojnoistorijski institute]. Zbornik dokumenata I podataka o narodnooslobodilačkom ratu jugoslovenskih naroda. Tom IV/26, pp.34-36; IV/30, pp.101-02; IV/31, pp.824-26; IV/32; [Vojnoistorijski institute]. Hronologija oslobodilačke borbe naroda jugoslavije 1941-1945, pp.887; Strugar, Vlado - Jugoslavija 1941-1945.

Reference material on this unit

- None known at this time -