The Polizei-Ausbildungs-Regiment Oranienburg was formed on 15 January 1943 as a training unit for 5.000 men taken over from the Wehrmacht. The instructors were taken from the Kolonial-Polizeischule in Oranienburg and from III/Polizei-Regiment 5.
The IV. and V. Bataillon were transferred to Vichy France in Mar 1943 and stationed in Thieres and Cannes. III. Bataillon was disbanded in April 1943.

It was disbanded in July 1943 apart from one battalion that was sent to Befehlshaber der Ordnungspolizei Riga where it remained until July 1944 when it was disbanded.


Oberstleutnant der Schutzpolizei Rudolf Kaufmann
Oberstleutnant der Schutzpolizei Richard Graf
Generalleutnant der Polizei Konrad Hitschler
Oberstleutnant der Schutzpolizei Richard Graf

Order of battle (February 1943)

Stab (Saaralben)
I. Bataillon (Saaralben)
II. Bataillon (Saaralben)
III. Bataillon (Saaralben and Metz)
IV. Bataillon (Zabern)
V. Bataillon (Bergzabern)
VI. Bataillon (Vollmerswiler and Büschelberg)
VII. Bataillon (Heidenheim and München)

Sources used

Georg Tessin, Hans-Adolf Neufeldt & Jürgen Huck - Zur Geschichte der Ordnungspolizei 1936-1945
Phil Nix & George Jerome - The Uniformed Police Forces of the Third Reich 1933-1945

Reference material on this unit

- None known at this time -