The Division Von Manteuffel was formed in February 1943 from Division Von Broich and was lost in May 1943 after the Axis surrender in North Africa.


General der Panzertruppen Hasso von Manteuffel (11 Feb 1943 - 30 Apr 1943)
Generalleutnant Karl Bülowius (30 Apr 1943 - 8 May 1943)

Area of operations

North Africa (Feb 1943 - May 1943)

Order of battle

Barenthin Fallschirmjäger Regiment (mot) (Luftwaffe)
T3 Infantry Battalion
M(A)30 Battalion
2. Artillery Regiment
10. (Italian) Bersaglieri Regiment
- 18. Bersaglieri Battalion
- 34. Bersaglieri Battalion
- 63. Bersaglieri Battalion
XI Pioneer Battalion (mot)
2120. Armored Car Platoon
190. Panzer Signals Platoon

Notable members

Hasso von Manteuffel (Holder of the Knight's Cross with Oak Leaves, Swords and Diamonds, post-war a member of the Bundestag 1953-1957 for the liberal Freie Demokratische Partei, FDP)
Hans Volkmer (One of four people to be awarded the German Cross in Gold twice, once by the Heer and once by the Luftwaffe, and the only one to recieve it for two different actions)

Sources used

George F. Nafziger - The Afrika Korps: An organizational history 1941-1943
Georg Tessin - Verbände und Truppen der deutschen Wehrmacht 1933-1945
Gordon Williamson - Afrikakorps 1941-43

Reference material on this unit

- None known at this time -