The SS-Pionierbataillon Dresden was formed in April 1935. It took part in the annexation of Austria and later the occupation of the Sudetenland.
It took part in the invasion of Poland attached to army units and following that campaign it was used to form SS-Division Verfügungstruppe (later renamed Das Reich).


SS-Sturmbannführer Karl Demme
SS-Sturmbannführer Karl Blumberg

Order of battle

1. Kompanie
2. Kompanie
3. Kompanie

Sources used

Andrew Mollo - Uniforms of the SS: Collected Edition
Jacek Solarz - SS Verfügungstruppen 1939
Otto Weidinger - Das Reich I

Reference material on this unit

Otto Weidinger - Das Reich I