The SS-Totenkopf-Standarte 5 Dietrich Eckhart was formed in Oranienburg in September 1939 around a cadre from SS-Totenkopf-Standarte 2 Brandenburg. It was the last Totenkopf-Standarte to be formed before the war.
It was transferred to Linz, where parts of it was used to form SS-Totenkopf-Standarte 13, and later to Stettin. It was redesignated SS-Infanterie-Regiment 5 Feb 1941 and attached to 2. SS-Infanterie Brigade.


SS-Oberführer Leo von Jena (? Nov 1939 – 1 Dec 1939)
SS-Brigadeführer Breithaupt (1 Dec 1939 – ? 1940)
SS-Standartenführer Hans Scheider (? 1940 – ? Feb 1941)

Manpower strength

July 1940 1.878

Order of battle

I. Stuba
II. Stuba
III. Stuba

Notable members

Erich Buchmann (Recipient of the Prussian Golden Military Merit Cross in the First World War)

Sources used

Dr. K-G Klietmann - Die Waffen-SS: eine Dokumentation
Kurt Mehner - Die Waffen-SS und Polizei 1939-1945
Andrew Mollo - Uniforms of the SS: Collected Edition

Reference material on this unit

- None known at this time -

Do you have any corrections or additions to the material presented on the site?
Please help us improve the site by sending them to us.