The 1. Division was formed from 1. Brigade Burgenland in June 1935.


Generalmajor Heinrich Stümpff (1 June 1935 - ? Mar 1938)

Order of battle

Niederösterreichisches Infanterieregiment Kaiser Franz Joseph I. Nr.1
Wiener Infanterieregiment Alt-Starhemberg Nr.2
Burgenländisch-Niederösterreichisches Infanterierregiment Carl Herzog von Lothringen Nr.13
Niederösterreichisches Leichtes Artillerieregiment Nr.1
Burgenländisches Feldjägerbataillon Nr.2
Wiener Pionierbataillon Nr.1
Telegraphen-Bataillon 1
Division-Kraftfahr-Abteilung 1

Sources used

Research by Glenn Jewison & Peter Kreuzer

Reference material on this unit

- None known at this time -

Do you have any corrections or additions to the material presented on the site?
Please help us improve the site by sending them to us.