The Reichskulturkammer was founded in 1933 to force all forms of culture in Germany to promote "good" culture and ban "bad" culture (according to reactionary views of the Nazi leadership). Membership in the Reichskulturkammer was compulsory and persons denied membership could not continue their work.

Präsident der Reichskulturkammer

Joseph Goebbels (1933-1945)


Reichskammer der bildenden künste (fine arts)
Reichsfilmkammer (film)
Reichsmusikkammer (music)
Reichspressekammer (press)
Reichsrundfunkkammer (radio)
Reichsschriftumskammer (literature)
Reichstheaterkammer (theater)

Do you have any corrections or additions to the material presented on the site?
Please help us improve the site by sending them to us.