8. Division (8. Divisioona)

Commanders (1)

Eversti Claes Winell (10 June 1941 - 9 Jan 1943) (2)
Kenraalimajuri Väinö Palojärvi (6 Feb 1943 - 17 Feb 1944)
Eversti Antti Kääriäinen (17 Feb 1944 - 15 Nov 1944)


Kolmen kannaksen Koukkaajat (Outflankers of Three Isthmus)

Other militaria

A special medal was awarded to those who served in this unit, the 8. Division Commemorative Cross.
(Courtesy of Joel Sjögren)


1. Some sources claim eversti Bertil Heinrichs commanded the 8. Divisioona for eight months at some point in 1944, but this is almost certainly erraneous.
2. Claes Winell died a of heart attack in Helsinki on 9 January 1943.

Sources used

Research by Mikko H.

Reference material on this unit

Börje Backström - ErP 18.ErP 18 Och Dess Strider i Aunus Och Ladogakarelen År 1944
Olavi Lopmeri - Punamustarykmentti I - III
Olavi Lopmeri - Punamustarykmentti Kolmella Kannksella
Toimikunta - Kymin Patteristo eli III/KTR 11 Sodassa 1941-44
Ossi Wallenius - "Tjugofyran" - Infanterieregement 24:s Historia 1941-1944

Do you have any corrections or additions to the material presented on the site?
Please help us improve the site by sending them to us.