(1. pješačka divizija)
by H.L. deZeng IV

Formed on or about 1 August 1941 with HQ in Zagreb (ex-Savska Division). By April 1942 Division HQ had moved to Bjelovar/ENE of Zagreb, where it was still located in February 1943. Division garrison responsibilities and tactical operations were carried out by sector commands at Koprivnica, Ludbreg, Križevci, Lepavina and Varaždinske Toplice. The Division HQ and staff were disbanded around 1 August 1943. (1)

Operational History

See the infantry regiments and other units listed under the Division’s order of battle.


Pukovnik Emanuel Balley (? Aug 1941 - ?) Apr 1942
Pukovnik Ivan Pavić (? - ?) Aug 1942
Pukovnik Matija Murković (? - ?) Dec 1942
Pukovnik Stjepan Peričić (? - ?) July 1943
Pukovnik Mirko Zgaga (? - ?) Mar 1943


I Territorial Corps (Nov 1941 - July 1943)

Order of battle (20 Oct 1941)

Division HQ
1st Infantry Rgt.
2d Infantry Rgt.
11th Infantry Rgt.
I Artillery Group
II Artillery Group.


1. Colić, Mladen - Takozvana Nezavisna Država Hrvatska 1941.

Reference material on this unit

- None known at this time -

Do you have any corrections or additions to the material presented on the site?
Please help us improve the site by sending them to us.