The SS-Reiterstandarte 17 was disbanded in October 1936 with the manpower going to SS-Reiterstandarte 15.

It was reformed in November 1936 from SS-Reiterstandarte 24.


SS-Sturmbannführer Ludwig Lang (? Sep 1934 - ? Oct 1936)
SS-Hauptsturmführer Franz Klebl (? Nov 1936 - ? May 1945)


Bad Wörishofen (in Oberstdorf until March 1935)

Sources used

Mark C. Yerger - Allgemeine-SS

Reference material on this unit

- None known at this time -

Do you have any corrections or additions to the material presented on the site?
Please help us improve the site by sending them to us.